Butter Is Usually Gluten-Free, But There’s A Catch

While plain butter, as well as margarine, fresh milk, and cream, are fairly safe food options for individuals on a gluten-free diet, there should be concern if these food items are not labeled as plain or gluten-free. For example, a spread could contain additives that include gluten. Also, some flavors are made by using wheat protein.

To be absolutely certain there is no gluten in butter, just read the label. The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act is very strict about FDA-regulated food products being properly labeled. If wheat, barley, rye, or malt are not listed as ingredients, wheat protein should not be in your butter.

However, just because the butter you buy contains no gluten in the ingredients, that doesn’t protect you from accidental cross-contamination that may occur at home. This can happen when someone cuts a slice of bread, then uses the same knife in the butter. So, care must be taken at all times to protect people who are sensitive to wheat protein.

Check Also

Mom’s Organic Munchies planning move to Brunswick

Mom’s Organic Munchies planning move to Brunswick

Betty Crush, founder of Mom’s Organic Munchies. Courtesy of Mom’s Organic Munchies Mom’s Organic Munchies, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *